Vedic Cosmology – The Planets of the Material Universe

The cosmology and cosmography of the ancient Vedas are impressive, to say the least. It is known that the most “modern” Vedic texts occur around 3000 BC, and are therefore the oldest scientific and religious doctrines known to man. The description of our solar system and what modern astronomy revealed about the visible universe is consistent with ancient Vedic knowledge, proving that man possessed advanced knowledge of astronomy thousands of years before it originated in our modern civilization. This article describes the Vedic version of planetary systems from higher and eternal planets to the time planetary systems that make up the myriad universes of this material world.

When we say “cosmic manifestation,” we talk about two different worlds, spiritual and material. Spiritual planetary systems are eternal, transcend material universes and belong to the “overspace” or “anti-material” dimension. They are beyond material time and space and therefore beyond our vision or perception. In these planetary systems there is no creation or dissolution, and these planets are limitless, indestructible and eternal. There are descriptions of these spiritual planets in Vedic literature, but this article focuses on planets from the material universe.

Material planetary systems are created at one time and will be destroyed at another time. They are bound by the influence of time and space. Both energies (spiritual and material) come from the same divine source called brahmadzhioti, the spiritual light. About a quarter of these brahmadzhioti are covered by the “mahat-tattva”, a material energy in which there are many material universes. Part 3/4 is eternal spiritual paradise. There are two spheres of existence in the spiritual world: “Goloka-dham” and “Hari-dham.” In the material world there is a kingdom called “Devi-dhama.”

Goloka-dhama is the upper planet and abode of the supreme deity Sri Sri Radhi-Krishna. At the bottom of Hari dham is the place where the spiritual planets of Vaikunthalok are located. Among the planets of Vaikunthi there is “Mahesh-dham” (also called Sadashivaloka, or abode of Lord Shiva). It is a kingdom that separates the spiritual from the material universe. Below Mahesh-dham is Devi-dham, the kingdom of the material universe. It is said that yoga systems offer different directions. Bhakti yoga leads to hari-dham or Golka-dham. Jnana Yoga leads the aspiring to the entrance to Mahesh-dham, and karma yoga forces him to stay in Devi dham and experience repetitive births and deaths in the material worlds.

Devi Dhama Planetary Systems

In Bhagavad Gita we find an explanation that there are three parts of material planets in our universe. These are urdhwa loka (higher), madhya loka (middle) and adho-loka (lower). Above urdhwa-lok are the covers of the material universe, behind which lie the eternal worlds of existence. Within these three plans of existence are 14 major planetary systems with different living standards and duration. The inhabitants of the three main systems have virtually no disease, aging of the body and feelings of anxiety. As planetary systems descend, life expectancy declines, living standards decline, and disease and fear increase.

The 14 planetary systems are named as follows, from the highest to the lowest:

1) Satya Loka

2) Tapa-loka

3) Jana Loka

4) Mahar-loka

5) Swar-loka

6) Bhuvar-loka

7) Bhur-Loka

8) Atala Loka

9) Vitala-Loka

10) Sutala Loka

11) Talatala-loka

12) Mahatala-loka

13) Rasatala-loka

14) Patala Loka

In one of the Vedic scriptures called “Hari-Vamsha” there is the following description: “Above the planetary systems where people live, there is a sky. Above the sky is a rotating sun, which is the entry point to the celestial planet. it is the center of the universe where the planets of those who rose with the help of great austerity and austerity begin. The planets above, in Satya Lok, are the habitats of those who have advanced in spiritual knowledge. Under the control of Devi (Goddess of Durga), and therefore called Devi-dhama.”

The term “amara” (immortal) is often used to describe the inhabitants of celestial planets, because their life expectancy is unthinkable for us, but although we estimate that they live millions of years, no one in the material worlds here can live forever . . . Bhagavad-Gita describes the life expectancy of those who live on Satyalok. One day is equivalent to 4,300,000,000 solar years. On other celestial planets, the day is equivalent to six months of our time, and night is six months on Earth. These souls have lived in their bodies for 10 million years.

The length of day, night, months and years varies from planetary system to planetary systems, and there are different types of people, animals, trees and vegetation. Some of the planets we see are considered celestial planets with different periods of time. Jupiter, Venus and the Moon are examples of planets on which one day is equal to six months on Earth. You may ask, how is it possible if we can see these planets orbiting the Sun?

To achieve this, a benchmark is important, which may be difficult for some to understand. All the planets around them have different sizes. The measurement of existence visible through our eyes gives the impression that other planets in our solar system are largely devoid of life. In fact, astronomers have found evidence of intelligent life on other planets, despite the fact that little is widely known.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.